Mountshannon Mill was located at the site of the current Davitt Apartments at the Goldenbridge Luas stop, Davitt Road, Drimnagh. In 1801, the proprietor of the mill attempted to sell two millstones but was unsuccessful. Thanks to his failure, these millstones have been an iconic focal feature in the landscaping of the new development and can be seen at the Davitt Road entrance.
Also within the Reception Area of the development, there is a history wall about Mountshannon Mill from 1801 up to 1905.
Mountshannon Mill was one of many mills located along the Camac River meandering from Clondalkin, through Bluebell and into Landsdowne Valley and under the Grand Canal along Davitt Road. The Board of the National Childrens’ Hospital (CHI Ireland) have undertaken a detailed archaeological survey on medieval to modern historical sites adjacent to the St James’s Campus including lands around Kilmainham, Inchicore, Goldenbridge and Drimnagh. Here is an excerpt from their survey. https://www.nchplanning.ie/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/Chapter-15-Archaeological-Heritage.pdf